Ballina Town F.C. is a football club catering for the Ballina area in County Mayo, Republic of Ireland.

The club was founded 8 December 1961 in Geraghty's public house, Ballina. Originally, the name of the club was to be St Patrick's F.C. but six months later it was changed to 'Ballina Town F.C.', locally the club is referred to as 'The Town'.

Traditionally, the team colours were pale blue shirts and white shorts although royal blue and white shirts are used now.

From the outset, the club's home matches were played at Belleek Park, which is still the club's ground today. Belleek Park consists of two playing pitches, which are amongst the finest playing surfaces in Connacht. Thanks mainly to Irish National Lottery funding, work commenced in 2004 on new changing rooms at Belleek Park. This development was used for the first time in February 2006. The clubhouse was officially opened by John Delaney, CEO, The FAI on 21 July 2008.

In March 1990, Ballina Town were defeated 0-4 by Shelbourne in the First Round of the FAI Cup. In doing so, they became the first club from County Mayo to play in the First Round of the FAI Senior Cup.

Ballina Town has many different teams from U-8s up to the Junior team. It is this accent on youth development that has seen four players gain football scholarships to universities in America. Other ex-players of note include Noel Melvin, who went on to play for League of Ireland sides Monaghan United and Dundalk and former coach, Leo Tierney, won a Junior International Cap, when he played in goal for 'The Town'. In 2003, Ross Kenny was selected on the Irish U-12 panel for the Danone Nations Cup in Paris. In 2005, David Cawley was selected onto the Ireland U-15 team for two friendlies against The Netherlands. He also played against Slovenia in 2006. In December 2006, Cawley signed a contract with English Championship side, Ipswich Town, and he joined them in August 2007.

Player Profile

Daniel Gorman

Calendar Of Events

RTE News